jump to navigation

FRIDAY NIGHT DOG BLOG – PARTY ANIMALS October 17, 2008

Posted by wmmbb in DOG BLOG -.
trackback
Human beings it has been said are “community animals”, a variation and more accurate translation of Aristotle’s political animals. So I was wondering this week what would be a good description for the dogs.

It occurs to me they might be described as party animals, but not in the political sense, although they relish the company of other dogs, or at least have elaborate means to get along. They seem to enjoy, not so much music, as food, especially treats. There is a suggestion around here there has been too much enjoyment of late.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
That might account for the sunny dispositions that  both Sasha . . .

. . .and Dexter are displaying :

Cooper came visiting again this week on two occasions. He is quite comfortable in our front yard. I am not suggesting it is escape proof – I would not tempt fate – but I suppose the company of Sasha and Dexter is an attraction.


Covering all the angles:

Seeking the shade:

Close associates now:

Let’s move on then:

And the bottle brushes are now in bloom. So they should be in the picture somewhere, even if we have to brave the street.

We will go over and visit Friday Ark # 213 to see who has boarded for this week.

I had a lot of trouble selecting the video.  Oorvie suggested Pink Floyd , so  decided on Wish You Were Here:


Just for the record the lyrics:

So, so you think you can tell Heaven from Hell,
blue skies from pain.
Can you tell a green field from a cold steel rail?
A smile from a veil?
Do you think you can tell?
And did they get you to trade your heroes for ghosts?
Hot ashes for trees?
Hot air for a cool breeze?
Cold comfort for change?
And did you exchange a walk on part in the war for a lead role in a cage?
How I wish, how I wish you were here.
We’re just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year,
Running over the same old ground.
What have you found? The same old fears.
Wish you were here.

Postscript:

I am sure that the gentle reader has no idea of how much frustration these dog blogs can cause me, in terms especially of the time taken. Frustrations are often due to personal shortcoming and failings, and I notice the tendency to find objects for venting anger, resentment and at the extreme, hatred. The particular cause for my frustration is the music, since I have no idea about music. It probably serves me right, since I goofed off at music classes in secondary school.

I have just noticed, I have replicated the collage. No problems, I will fix it.

Comments»

1. bang - October 18, 2008

hi! webmaster be web site at excellent the article or take an interest about about [ story ] a dog such as turning dog , dog care or dog food add follow done to a turn doghistory.blogspot.com

2. wmmbb - October 18, 2008

Thanks for dropping by bang. You have an interesting website.

3. oorvi - October 21, 2008

Hi Mr. wmmbb,

Nice pictures as usual:) Cooper and Dexter do seem quite friendly with one another:)

Will tell Cameo about the music video…

I’ll be back! (Do I sound like The Terminator?)

Licks n Wags,
Oorvi

4. wmmbb - October 22, 2008

Thanks as always Oorvi.

Dexter actually misses Cooper when he has to go home – but that is Dexter.

I take it you will be metaphorically parking outside and stepping through the door.

5. oorvi - October 23, 2008

🙂 Of course:)

6. wmmbb - October 23, 2008

Oorvi, I take it that the dog flap would not be a challenge. Cooper actually looks at with puzzlement as Sasha and Dexter go in and out.

7. oorvi - October 24, 2008

Absolutely not. I am small enough to pass through most dog-flaps (and some cat-flaps):)

8. Colleen - October 25, 2008

Such lovely blooms. It still kind of blows me away that your flowers are now just bursting forth while ours are fading fast. I never cease to be struck by the marvel of it all. 🙂

The three party animals seem very happy with their lot. The best thing about these three is their ability to simply enjoy the moment for all that it offers ( I suppose the true mark of a good partier )… and if food happens to be on the plate.. well, so much the better. 🙂

9. wmmbb - October 25, 2008

Oorvi I probably have not appreciated your size compared to Sasha for example.

I am please you liked the flowers, Colleen, that was an Oorvi suggestion. You are right about the three of them being good partiers, especially when there is food to be had.


Leave a comment