jump to navigation

FRIDAY NIGHT DOG BLOG – GOODBYE WINTER August 30, 2008

Posted by wmmbb in DOG BLOG -.
trackback
The weather is still  cold, even as we are about to transit to spring, given that occurs for some reason on first of September.


We all have our worries with extreme weather events especially in the light of global warming – or is that climate change. In the short term, as summer approaches the extreme weather induced event is bush fires, and the wild fires in California set the stage for us. Bush fires might well be a natural part of the landscape, but there is a human element.

Today, for example, I was walking down the bike track in the bush minding my own inner business, lost in my thoughts, when suddenly I am joined by a Staffordshire Terrier type dog and soon after by another. In this situation, I have to let Sasha go, and hold Dexter. I did freak for the moment, but soon recovered my equanimity. The thing though that the two owners came soon after, and the thing is one of them was smoking. I caught some of the smoke, which I did not appreciate, but the danger associated with that behavior does not seem an issue to the smoker. One cigarette butt can cause a lot of damage and grief when the bush gets drier.

……………………………………………………
Sasha catches the sunshine:
Just the two of them:

Dexter in action:

Sasha takes it easy:

I will sit too, but not for too long:

Dexter obviously never gets a feed:

A time for poise:

If you are going to sit down, we might as well take it easy too:



Let’s just start at the back gate today as ever:

We will, of course, line up once more at the Quarter Deck to join the crew and passengers as Friday Ark.

With the onset of Spring, we can expect longer hours of sunshine and Jimmy Cliff has the song:

I don’t know how it works. The earlier version was discontinued. Oh well here is another.

Comments»

1. oorvi - August 31, 2008

Congratulations, Mr. wmmbb,

Your blog’s been listed as one of the faster growing blogs at wordpress:) That’s good news…do Dexter, Sasha, Oorvi, and Jock get treats today? Oorvi will…Mercury says so…both of us love your blog!

September 1 – Spring is on in Australia; in India Monsoons are “officially” gone by Mid August…yet it rained heavily during last night:(

Thanks for the pictures… they are always a pleasure to view. I know that you are the serious sort of guy, who writes about serious sort of stuff…but I am planning to add something to my blog that may interest Sasha n Dexter…I’ll do it today evening by Indian time, so you can say about 3:00 PM GMT (Thank god for GMT!)

Do stop by:)

Licks n Wags,
Oorvi

2. wmmbb - August 31, 2008

Oorvi,

Mrs wmmbb also enjoyed the photos the photos this week, and did not even object to the song. I am pleased to hear that your house liked the photos as well.

I am interested to hear about the monsoons, which do not affect our weather here, but Northern Australia is part of that weather pattern.

It is true that I am for the moment receiving five to six times more hits than usual, but that will soon pass with the resumption of normal transmission.

Heading your way, Oorvi . . .


Leave a comment