jump to navigation

Dog Blog: Invasion Day Week February 3, 2016

Posted by wmmbb in DOG BLOG -.
trackback

Invasion Day came and went for another year. It might be an exercise in historical reflection, but it never seems to deliver. For example, considering last year, if given a chance, Phil would probably say his jousting days are done. The only memory I have this year is of the sound of lawn mowers – a more apt metaphor.

Now, Dexter’s plastic helmet has been discarded and the stitches removed from his ear. He did not suffer any further injury from bumping into almost every tree and obstacle in his path. The decision to take him our for the past three weeks was a risk. The lead was attached to his collar. The advice is that puts pressure on the trachea. Dexter did not seem to mind. Then, dogs cannot talk.

As an aside it is often the greatest dangers are those not expected. It may have been a celebration, but empty and broken beer bottles. How the dogs did not step on the broken glass in various shapes is amazing. There is no guarantee that I was able to find it all. I put it under some witches hats. The bottles were Houten beer.

The problem with Dexter’s ear was not due to an infection. That option was thoroughly checked out by the vets. I suspect the injury was incurred when I removed the harness.I was taking this variety of harness off with the lead attached, and Dexter in a hurry would pull away. Dog ears are susceptible to injury because they consist of a double layer of cartilage. The obvious thing to do is to unleash him and let him run around in the harness, and then take it off later.

The photos will be something to look back on. The music, “Pioneers”, is performed by Audionautix:

Dexter and Hannah are sentient and embodied, but strangely they do not qualify as “everybody”. I don’t know for certain but I suspect they do not worry where, or what, they came from, and where they are going to go. Location may be more important to them. Iris DeMnet has a catchy song, “Let the Mystery Be”, fitting in with the idea of tunnel vision without reflection:

Comments»

1. wmmbb - February 4, 2016

The lyrics are clear enough for the most part:

“Everybody’s wonderin’ what and where
They all came from
Everybody’s worryin’ ’bout where they’re gonna go
When the whole thing’s done
But no one knows for certain and so it’s all the same to me
I think I’ll just let the mystery be

Some say once gone you’re gone forever
And some say you’re gonna come back
Some say you rest in the arms of the Savior
If in sinful ways you lack
Some say that they’re comin’ back in a garden
Bunch of carrots and little sweet peas
I think I’ll just let the mystery be

Everybody’s wonderin’ what and where
They all came from
Everybody’s worryin’ ’bout where they’re gonna go
When the whole thing’s done
But no one knows for certain and so it’s all the same to me
I think I’ll just let the mystery be

Some say they’re goin’ to a place called Glory
And I ain’t saying it ain’t a fact
But I’ve heard that I’m on the road to Purgatory
And I don’t like the sound of that
I believe in love and I live my life accordingly
But I choose to let the mystery be

Let The Mystery Be Lyrics | MetroLyrics

The key lyric is easy to miss: “I believe in love and I live my life accordingly”. Perhaps, I do not listen carefully and discerningly.


Leave a Reply

