jump to navigation

FRIDAY NIGHT DOG BLOG – Time and Trees August 2, 2015

Posted by wmmbb in DOG BLOG -.
trackback

I have long understood that Dexter and Hannah move through a different sensory landscape than I experience. Or, maybe, I haven’t in reality being separated from their experiences. I am part of their stopping to sniff what they see, and their behavior is casually observed, often with impatience. We point our cameras at both objects and subjects, and it is an arbitrary distinction.

Our walks are through a realm superimposed on the past and transformed in many ways that was visited here by coal-powered ships and coal mines. This country is perhaps unrecognizable to those who knew it, and its various native non-human inhabitants best in competition with off spring animals of a settler society. Many moons before – indeed, innumerable blue moons before – that coal might have been trees.  

As  from Bob Dylan’s lyric,Every Grain of Sand“:

Don’t have the inclination to look back on any mistake
Like Cain, I now behold this chain of events that I must break
In the fury of the moment I can see the master’s hand
In every leaf that trembles, in every grain of sand

Oh, the flowers of indulgence and the weeds of yesteryear
Like criminals, they have choked the breath of conscience and good cheer
The sun beams down upon the steps of time to light the way
To ease the pain of idleness and the memory of decay.

And trees are different. They are good to have around, or so it is alleged. I have been observing and am not sure about the leaves trembling. If there is a consciousness of breathing out and breathing in there is a obvious and strong symbiosis between human beings and trees. That is possibly true for all other animals, especially those that do not merely move among and under them, but live on them and in them. Of course, it is true that the plant world is food and shelter, directly and indirectly, for all the denizens of the land. “Stomata” reminds me of “stomach”.

Who knows what Dexter and Hannah would understand? I trust implicitly their hearing, even when I do not immediately appreciate what is causing their interest.

I know that these photos might be tedious. I try to make them interesting. It is a case, I fear that once the summit of possible achievement, from that point it is downhill for the rest of the journey. Silent Partner has again been appropriated to provide the background music, “Court and Page”:

Songs are stories. Sometimes that story is incomplete. The missing part is what is often what is of greatest interest. The idea of “The Pub with no Beer” was novel. I am pretty sure no one knew then that the Day Dawn Hotel in Ingham, Queensland, had been drunk dry by US servicemen stationed in the area. The song was made famous by Slim Dusty, but was written by Gordon Parsons:

Jokes aside, I can reassure Dexter and Hannah they do not have to worry when the fridge has no beer, but rather when the cupboard is bare. While in the metaphorical sense I have wandered away from trees, I promise next week I will be among them, even if they are not mentioned. Time will move on – as it does. Are these the prison of our days?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

