jump to navigation

FRIDAY NIGHT DOG BLOG: “TAKING A BREATHER” April 27, 2013

Posted by wmmbb in DOG BLOG -.
trackback

Sometimes I go down to the fruit shop, about half a kilometer away, with a back pack, and walk back carrying about 12.5 kilograms. I broke out into a sweat last time, so it seems I am doing more work than on the dog walks.

Hannah gets to bound around. So Dexter is the loser. If I gave Dexter his druthers, he would take full advantage requiring me to go and find him, all the time hoping nothing had happened to him.

The walks are pretty relaxed, including a small time spent sitting on rocks spent passing for what might be contemplation. There is a quotation of Albert Einstein’s in which he speaks of the optical delusion of the mind. In looking for it, I found this:

If this works, you should see an image of Albert, and then if you rise from your chair and step back a few paces, you might see another person, who at least was famous in her day. (Via Dangerous Minds)

And here is what I was looking for, and when I read his statement, I realize it more than I thought:

A human being is a part of the whole, called by us “Universe,” a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings as something separated from the rest is a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty. Nobody is able to achieve this completely, but the striving for such achievement is in itself a part of the liberation and a foundation for inner security.

And yet in this respect, I am inclined to think that indigenous peoples were and are closer to this appreciation than whatever we might be described as. And then I discovered this week, Teilhard De Chardan with this audio.

 

As I walk among the Eucalypti, with the welfare of Dexter, Hannah and myself, it occurs to me that I could reduce the “noosphere” to the prosaic. As it happened as we were walking past a gum tree, a branch fell to the ground. A minor shock compared to such a branch falling down on us, which could happen, especially if you notice fallen branches, some quite substantial along the way. Wind and gravity are the agencies. So there is a lot to be said for noticing things and linking processes.

Otherwise the breathers, like so much else, are totally without justification.

…………………………..

………………………………………..

Too many wrong turns, and I might get lost, but I would expect that Dexter and Hannah would find our way home. Steve Winwood and Eric Clapton sing, “Can’t find my way Home”:


……………………………………….

Friday Ark might be sailing these parts

………………………………………….

Picasa was used to arrange the photos, and cannot be faulted with the selections.

Posted by Picasa

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

