jump to navigation

DAY OF DAYS – 21 MAY 2011 March 28, 2011

Posted by wmmbb in Miscellaneous.
trackback

The world will end on the 21 May 2011, at least according to a biblical forecast.

Why has this date been chosen for the deserving to be raptured up to be taken to God, while the rest of us equally deservingly are cast into perdition. I suppose that one has to accept the judgment of God with equanimity.

Guy Adams at The Independent has the story:

The end of the world is nigh; 21 May, to be precise. That’s the date when Harold Camping, a preacher from Oakland, California, is confidently predicting the Second Coming of the Lord. At about 6pm, he reckons 2 per cent of the world’s population will be immediately “raptured” to Heaven; the rest of us will get sent straight to the Other Place.

If Mr Camping were speaking from any normal pulpit, it would be easy to dismiss him as just another religious eccentric wrongly calling the apocalypse. But thanks to this elderly man’s ubiquity, on America’s airwaves and billboards, his unlikely Doomsday message is almost impossible to ignore.

Every day Mr Camping, an 89-year-old former civil engineer, speaks to his followers via the Family Radio Network, a religious broadcasting organisation funded entirely by donations from listeners. Such is their generosity (assets total $120m) that his network now owns 66 stations in the US alone.

. . . After 70 years of studying the Bible, he claims to have developed a system that uses mathematics to interpret prophesies hidden in it. He says the world will end on 21 May, because that will be 722,500 days from 1 April AD33, which he believes was the day of the Crucifixion. The figure of 722,500 is important because you get it by multiplying three holy numbers (five, 10 and 17) together twice. “When I found this out, I tell you, it blew my mind,” he said.

The explanation was not clear, at least to me. The number of days is 850 squared. So why is 17 a holy number?

Justin Berton is on the case at SFGate.com:

The number 5, Camping concluded, equals “atonement.” Ten is “completeness.” Seventeen means “heaven.” Camping patiently explained how he reached his conclusion for May 21, 2011.

“Christ hung on the cross April 1, 33 A.D.,” he began. “Now go to April 1 of 2011 A.D., and that’s 1,978 years.”

Camping then multiplied 1,978 by 365.2422 days – the number of days in each solar year, not to be confused with a calendar year.

Next, Camping noted that April 1 to May 21 encompasses 51 days. Add 51 to the sum of previous multiplication total, and it equals 722,500.

Camping realized that (5 x 10 x 17) x (5 x 10 x 17) = 722,500.

Or put into words: (Atonement x Completeness x Heaven), squared.

“Five times 10 times 17 is telling you a story,” Camping said. “It’s the story from the time Christ made payment for your sins until you’re completely saved.

“I tell ya, I just about fell off my chair when I realized that,” Camping said.

Some googling suggests that the 21 May will be the day of rapture for the faithful, but 21 October will be the end of world.

All I can say as an unbeliever in Biblical forecasting, and holy prime numbers, even when multiplied by two, is: If the bible is such a good source of prediction, why did not prior to the discover of stratification did the Bible correctly estimate the beginning of the planet? I am assuming the prediction is for the destruction of the planet, not the universe, and whatever lies beyond.

Is this simply bone-headed stupidity? Or as they say, have a nice day on the twenty-first of May.

UPDATE:

It seems that Christ by one account died at the ninth hour, Jerusalem time.

I would like to report that I was raptured – or was I dreaming – when I got to the check out, I found I had the wrong stamp in my passport and they sent me back.

CODA:

This type of thing is not religion. It is simply taking advantage of vulnerable people – a most unchristian thing to do. My reaction is anger.

My view is that Earth should be, could be, and is heaven. As far as I know we do not have the technology to get to any alternative livable realm, even if one could be discovered.

Comments»

1. simon peter - March 28, 2011

I have been asking the campers what they will do if by chance May 22nd 2011 rolls around and they are still here – Well they have accused me of doing exactly what the big snake did in the garden of Eden – He said hath God realy said – and so I was trying to make them doubt MMM – I will think I’ll buy some fireworks and declare May 21st 2011 an international holiday.

2. Dan - March 28, 2011

I’ve called the local Radio station for Family Radio and offered them A good price for it and told them they can stay till May 21st. If it happens they will have that money to spread the word but come May 22nd It would be playing County Music. They turned me down on the offer.

3. Tsitsi - May 20, 2011

No one knows about the day nor the hour; even Jesus Christ doesnt know except God Himself; So beware of the prophets of doom!!!

4. Robert - May 21, 2011

What do you mean by this comment “why did not not correctly estimate the beginning of the planet?” ?

wmmbb - May 21, 2011

I have fixed it now. I was referring to an earlier prediction that the earth was 3,000 or so years old. I am knocking such predictions as such, because sometimes a lot of careful effort has gone into them.

What I was thinking that hell was a far more interesting place than heaven – at least you get to meet all your mates. And then I got to thinking about Dante and segregation that goes on there.

How come that only 2% are saved and 98% of people condemned? It seems clear that compassion plays little part in those set of beliefs.

The 21st is almost over here, but then I suppose the prediction runs on Jerusalem time.

Now just suppose the prediction does not pan out, will there be cognitive dissonance experienced by the followers? “Sorry, we got the day of the crucification wrong. You wait until we figure out when that was. Otherwise, the prediction is perfect.”

Thanks Robert for pointing out my mistake.


Leave a Reply

