jump to navigation

INFUSIONS OF DIFFERENT CONTENT October 30, 2009

Posted by wmmbb in Life Experience.
trackback

Following doctor’s orders can take a person to places that they did not know exist and be subjected to experiences and reflections not anticipated.

I know enough about hospitals now to appreciate that you walk into the maw of the bureaucratic machine and the unexpected can happen.

Yesterday, I was required to front the public hospital for a Aredia infusion at the medical ambulatory centre. I notice one patient departed in a wheelchair, otherwise it was a walk in sit down and get hooked up to a drug infusion with saline solution into a vein. I have never had a cannula that was prepared so well with a hot pack on the vein. Then it was just a matter of sitting in one spot for three hours while my blood system absorbed the 30mg of disodium pamidronate (the active ingredient in Aredia). The purpose of the medication was to prevent decalification of the bones caused by the prednisone I am taking and thereby stop other effects created by the automatic feedback mechanisms of the body. The effect I noticed at home was that I was tired and could not concentrate, so I thought it was likely the effect of the medication.

As I was sitting in my chair with the newspaper, I was subject to a fare of midday television, something I would otherwise not have experience. I found the cooking program pretty vacuous. Affability is personal quality, I suppose, but I find it tiresome after awhile. Otherwise the programs were American interview and talk program: Ellen and The View. I was thinking to myself these opinions about, for example, following the Letterman Affair, sexual and other relationships in the workplace, why should I be listening to these people’s opinion, not that there opinions are not as valuable as anybody else’s. It seems to me that this form of television abstracts what otherwise is a social process, and leaves the watcher as a passive recipient rather than a persons actively and socially engaged.

Blogging by contrast is an active process. You might even find things out after the fact, and assume that someone else might be interested enough to read what is written. Even if there is not readers the exercise of framing experience in the social technology of language is worthwhile. I am made a aware of the wider social context of my life, as distinct from the obsessing pursuit of individuality for it own sake that I think leads to the egotistical delusion. I feel very badly about having to have any medical treatment at all, although I am not the best judge of that requirement as experience demonstrates. So I am given to think as to what best I should be doing.

I made the wise decision and caught a taxi home. The driver was saying in that line you give up your social life because of the hours you need to put in to earn a living and how the introduction of the free shuttle bus service had affected their income. It struck me that he like I had been was in a hole, and when you are in a hole the thing to do is stop digging.

Once you stop digging, even when possible, there is the psychological burden of the lag – the difference between results and efforts. Activity can be a psychological balm one level and a cause of distress on another. What should be people be doing? They should be doing what they are good at and most suited for? In my opinion this represents a need that often is not recognized, sometimes seen as a threat, which is absurd, and negated as a product of interpersonal viciousness, often socially constructed.

The social focus is on outcomes rather than processes. Hospitals, for example, are not profit centres ( I was asked to paid an amount less than $30, which I supposed was about one tenth of the actual cost). I think we ignore roles for status. Roles are more important than status, and in an authentic sense peoples roles have to self validating, which gives them the space to recognize and appreciate all others.

Comments»

1. KIDNEY DISEASE AND PREDNISONE « DUCKPOND - November 2, 2009

[…] I have spent three hours at the hospital have an Arednia drip, which is intended to block the decalification of the bones by […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

