jump to navigation

FRIDAY NIGHT DOG BLOG: FIRE ALONG THE TRACK August 29, 2009

Posted by wmmbb in DOG BLOG -.
trackback

Living near the bush, fire is a major concern. Coming back with Sasha and Dexter from our walk a mountain biker told me there was a stack of cleared branches and scrub was on fire.

We did not have a mobile (cell phone) between us, but another biker came along with a ubiguitious mobile and called the fire brigade. They came in about fifteen minutes or so.

The fire put out an amout of heat:

The fire scene looks benign as the Fire Brigade douses the flames:

I was just told, “I can smell smoke”, at almost midnight. I went up to check it. The fire had not been completely put out with red hot embers under the smoldering logs. I rang the local fire brigade, and they said they would come and look at it on the sensible notion of better safe than sorry.

Prior to that both Dexter and me were very pleasantly engaged in watching wild rabbits play. I thought I best capture this scene from where I sat:

Sasha had earlier posed against the dry grass, with the pile that must have been lit. Luckily today there was no wind.

Otherwise everything was pretty much the usual weekly round for Sasha and Dexter:

We took a diversion to the Creek bed:

The usual routine except that the photographer is now medicated on adrenaline, and who knows how that is fated to work out:

We have seen the fire, now let’s have the rain. Here in any regard is the song by James Taylor:

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
As usual we apply to board Friday Ark at Modulator and see if  we join the good company on board this week.

ELSEWHERE:

In reference to James Taylor’s lyrics, I do regard the Nazarene as a bad bloke. Carmen, via Deltoid, is not impressed. He was against the empire. “Turn the other check”. “Walk the extra mile” (and give them hell). “Love your enemies” – sensational then as now. As with Mohammed, the Buddha, Lao Tzu, the Talmud or the Verdanta it all depend on how the message is read and understood. I am an atheist, but brotherhood and peace to religious people everywhere.

Further south, where the weather was not so friendly, ABC News reports the potential danger we share. Just as well some of us are out riding mountain bikes and walking the dogs. Had the bush caught fire we would have had a serious situation. Now that is a possibility not inevitable, but in these situations we have to stop and consider what we have to do to stop our luck running out. What are the effective preventive measures we can take?

I am conscious of the fires reported in California and Greece, but New South Wales is closer to home. The fact that a fire of this magnitude, more than a lighted match, has to be taken as a serious warning.

Comments»

1. Oorvi - September 3, 2009

Those innocuous bonfire-like fires could be dangerous. Good that Dexter, Sasha, you, and the “mobile” gentleman were there to call the firemen.

We’ve been hearing a lot about forest fires this year (including the ones in Himachal, India) – I hope they are an aberration.

These two’ve been very busy so I couldn’t visit earlier. How’s your health? And how’s Mrs. Wmmbb? Wags to her too:)

Licks n wags,
Oorvi

wmmbb - September 3, 2009

Thanks for keeping up with things as always in India, Oorvi. I had not realized that there had been forest fires there as well.

Just today we have had rain – so that is good news. The bushfire problem for the upcoming summer is something we are going to have deal with. I am spending time trying to clear around the yard.

My medication seems to be going well. I have more energy than usual. I had not realized that I had become lethargic to the extent I had been.

I hope business picking up and I know that you are close by to provide expert advice when required.

Mrs Wmmbb has gotten over her operation, and seems to doing well from that perspective.

2. Bill Bartmann - September 20, 2009

I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks,

A definite great read.. :)

-Bill-Bartmann

wmmbb - September 20, 2009

Thanks for the comment Bill.

Good luck – if that is the key factor – in your business projects.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers