jump to navigation

UTILITARIAN EDUCATION May 15, 2006

Posted by wmmbb in Category to be ascribed.
trackback

All the thinkers have thought their thoughts and reached their conclusions which in short is that the lower orders should not be trained in rigour of higher thought, but rather should be given to menial activities to fit their menial abilities. These verdicts have been reached clandestinely, and now policy is enacted and is bipartisan.

Implicitly, education at public expense, or at least mostly public provision should be used for public purposes, and these are held to be inconsisent with a liberal view that education is about the growth and development of individuals. A business education, which supposedly is practical, is about a series of techniques, and so, for example philosophy, has no place. The same might be said for the way in politics is practiced.

Still it is encouraging to see, via Common Dreams, that somebody would propose:

I thought of these things with the tools with which we English majors graduate into the world — not the tools that enable you to splice genes, cantilever bridges, or make piles of money, but those that enable you to analyze, to see patterns, to acquire a personal philosophy rather than a jumble of unexamined, hand-me-down notions; those that enable you not to make a living but maybe to live. This least utilitarian of educations prepares you to make sense of the world and maybe to make meaning; for one way to describe the great struggle of our time is as the endeavor to become a producer of meanings rather than a consumer of them — in an age when meaning as advertising and marketing, as others’ definitions of pleasure and terror, is daily forced down our throats.

I cannot say really, except to posit that the best education for each individual is that that enables him or her, at least in potentiality, to express their best possibilities. Of course, this may involve practical skills, which are means to ends. And as the Bible says, and I am sure as the preacher quotes, “it is the spirit that giveth life.”

Comments»

1. butt injections - July 30, 2013

First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that
I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing.
I have had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.

I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are
generally lost just trying to figure out how to begin.
Any recommendations or tips? Cheers!

wmmbb - July 30, 2013

Since I consider myself to be a presumptive writer, and not a good writer, I don’t give advice. The best advice I ever saw was to think in terms of beginning, middle and end. I would have thought that you would be more focused on ends than beginnings.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

